Campaigns East Midlands Local Government

Additional licensing in Nottingham ‘unnecessary financial burden’

Victoria Barker
Written by Victoria Barker

The RLA has responded to a consultation on introducing additional licensing in some areas Nottingham by arguing that it if it is introduced it would be a financial burden for landlords affected.

“Unnecessary financial burden”

In its response to the additional licensing consultation, which you can read here the RLA say that the proposed cost for landlords in obtaining an additional licence is an ‘unnecessary financial burden’. Indeed, the consultation documents from the council reveal that the proposed full standard licensing fee would be £1370, which the RLA believe that even with the discounts, is an unnecessary financial burden for landlords.

The RLA is opposed to the introduction of the additional licensing scheme in Nottingham, and has objections to licensing overall, which are mentioned in the response to the consultation.

What is additional licensing?

Additional licensing is the power for a local authority to impose licensing for all HMOs, and not just those that meet the current 5-3-2 rule.

Additional licensing may either be in a designated area or the whole borough and it is available in local authrity areas when a significant number of HMOs have been found to be poorly managed and are causing problems for residents.

Selective Licensing

Separate to this, landlords in Nottingham are being reminded that a Selective Licensing scheme comes into force on 1st August 2018.

Unlike additional licensing, selective licensing is the power for local authorities to impose licensing of all of the PRS, and not just HMOs. This may be in a designated area, or in the whole of the borough, and the area must have a high proportion of PRS (greater than 19%). With this, Secretary of State approval is more likely, and consultation period is also required.

Selective Licensing is due to come into force in August 2018 in areas of Nottingham, including: Arboretum, Bestwood, Bulwell, Bulwell Forest, Basford, Berridge, Bridge, Clifton North, Clifton South, Dales, Dunkirk and Lenton, Leen Valley, Mapperley, Radford and Park, Sherwood, St Ann’s, Wollaton East and Lenton Abbey.

The designation is due to last until 31st July 2023, and subject to certain exemptions all private sector landlords within the area covered by the designation will need to apply to the council for a license, before their properties can be let.

The RLA has had its Landlords Principles of Lettings course approved for by Nottingham City Council for this scheme.

Nottingham City Council have approved the RLA’s Landlords Principles of Lettings course- since one of the licensing conditions requires landlords to undertake some training. This course is available as both a classroom and an E-learning course.

About the author

Victoria Barker

Victoria Barker

Victoria is the Communications Officer for the RLA.

She is responsible for producing articles for our Campaigns and News Centre, the weekly E-News newsletter and media review, and creating social media content. She also contributes to our members magazine, Residential Property Investor.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.