Writing to your Assembly Member

What is the issue?

The RLA exists to represent the interests of our members to Government. We are fighting for a fair deal for the nation’s residential landlords.

We are currently campaigning to ensure landlords can recover their property in a timely manner when they need to.

The Welsh Government recently opened their consultation on restricting the use of Section 173, their upcoming replacement for Section 21. If these proposals are implemented landlords will not be able to apply to court using the notice until at least 12 months have passed from the tenant moving in.

While landlords will still be able to serve a separate notice if the tenant is in rent arrears or breaching the terms of their tenancy agreement our research shows that landlords do not believe the grounds based system is fit for purpose. There are no proposals to improve grounds based possession should Section 173 be restricted.

How do I get involved?

We need your help to raise awareness of the serious impact of these changes for landlords and tenants alike, so please campaign with us and let’s make renting better.

With that in mind the RLA has drafted a letter to be sent to your Assembly Member. Once you have added your own concerns to the letter you should send it to your Assembly Member.

How do I contact my Assembly Member?

Once you have completed your letter you can find the contact details for your Assembly Members from the tables below.

Mid and West Wales Assembly Members

Name of
Assembly Member
EmailConstituency Party 
Kirsty Williamskirsty.williams@assembly.walesBrecon and
Welsh Liberal Democrats
Adam Price adam.price@assembly.walesCarmarthen East
and Dinefwr
Angela Burnsangela.Burns@assembly.walesCarmarthen West
and South Pembrokeshire
Elin Joneselin.jones@assembly.walesCeredigionPlaid 
Dafydd Elis-Thomasdafydd.elis-thomas@assembly.walesDwyfor MeirionnyddIndependent
Lee Waterslee.waters@assembly.walesLlanelliLabour 
Eluned Morganeluned.morgan@assembly.walesMid and West Wales Labour 
Helen Mary JonesHelenMary.Jones@assembly.walesMid and West Wales Plaid 
Joyce Watsonjoyce.watson@assembly.walesMid and West Wales Labour 
Neil Hamilton neil.hamilton@assembly.walesMid and West Wales UKIP
Russell Georgerussell.george@assembly.walesMontgomeryshireConservatives
Paul Davies paul.davies@assembly.walesPreseli PembrokeshireConservatives

North Wales

Name of
EmailConstituency Party 
Jack SargeantJack.Sargeant@assembly.walesAlyn and DeesideLabour 
Siân Gwenlliansian.gwenllian@assembly.walesArfonPlaid 
Ken Skatesken.skates@assembly.walesClwyd SouthLabour 
Darren Millardarren.millar@assembly.walesClwyd West Conservatives
Hannah Blythynhannah.blythyn@assembly.walesDelynLabour 
Llyr Gruffyddllyr.gruffydd@assembly.walesNorth walesPlaid 
Mandy Jonesmandy.jones@assembly.walesNorth walesBrexit Party
Mark Isherwood mark.isherwood@assembly.walesNorth walesConservatives
Michelle Brownmichelle.brown@assembly.walesNorth wales Independent
Ann Jonesann.jones@assembly.walesVale of ClwydLabour 
Lesley Griffithslesley.griffiths@assembly.walesWrexhamLabour 
Rhun ap Iorwerth rhun.apiorwerth@assembly.walesYnys MonPlaid 

South Wales Central

Name of
EmailConstituency Party 
Jenny Rathbonejenny.rathbone@assembly.walesCardiff Central Labour 
Julie Morganjulie.morgan@assembly.walesCardiff NorthLabour 
Vaughan Gethingvaughan.gething@assembly.walesCardiff South and PenarthLabour 
Vikki Howells vikki.howells@assembly.walesCynon Valley Labour 
Mick Antoniwmick.antoniw@assembly.walesPontypriddLabour 
Leanne Woodleanne.wood@assembly.walesRhonddaPlaid 
Andrew RT Daviesandrewrt.Davies@assembly.walesSouth Wales CentralConservatives
David Melding david.melding@assembly.walesSouth Wales CentralConservatives
Gareth Bennettgareth.bennett@assembly.walesSouth Wales CentralUKIP
Neil McEvoy neil.mcevoy@assembly.walesSouth Wales CentralIndependent
Jane Huttjane.hutt@assembly.walesVale of Glamorgan Labour 

South Wales East

Name of
EmailConstituency Party 
Alun Daviesalun.davies@assembly.walesBlaenau GwentLabour 
Hefin Davidhefin.david@assembly.walesCaerphillyLabour 
Rhianon Passmore rhianon.passmore@assembly.walesIslwynLabour 
Dawn Bowdendawn.bowden@assembly.walesMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabour 
Nick Ramsaynicholas.ramsay@assembly.walesMonmouthConservatives
John Griffithsjohn.griffiths@assembly.walesNewport EastLabour 
Jayne Bryantjayne.bryant@assembly.walesNewport WestLabour 
David Rowlandsdavidj.rowlands@assembly.walesSouth Wales EastBrexit Party
Delyth JewellDelyth.Jewell@assembly.walesSouth Wales EastPlaid 
Mark Recklessmark.reckless@assembly.walesSouth wales East Brexit Party
Mohammad Asghar (Oscar)mohammad.asghar@assembly.walesSouth wales east Conservatives
Lynne Neaglelynne.neagle@assembly.walesTorfaenLabour 

South Wales West

Name of
EmailConsituency Party 
David Reesdavid.rees@assembly.walesAberavonLabour 
Carwyn Jonescarwyn.jones@assembly.walesBridgend Labour 
Rebecca Evansrebecca.evans@assembly.walesGowerLabour 
Jeremy Milesjeremy.miles@assembly.walesNeathLabour 
Huw Irranca-Davieshuw.irranca-davies@assembly.walesOgmoreLabour 
Bethan Sayedbethan.sayed@assembly.walesSouth Wales West RegionPlaid 
Caroline Jones caroline.jones@assembly.walesSouth Wales West RegionBrexit Party
Dai Lloyddai.lloyd@assembly.WalesSouth Wales West RegionPlaid 
Suzy Daviessuzy.davies@assembly.walesSouth Wales West RegionConservatives
Mike Hedgesmike.hedges@assembly.walesSwansea EastLabour 
Julie Jamesjulie.james@assembly.walesSwansea WestLabour